h1

Whooooooo lives in a pineapple under the sea…

March 14, 2009

I got over the disappointment of not being a perfect mother a long time ago.  I think Jeremy was about 20 minutes old when it happened.  They brought him to me all swaddled up ready to nurse and I promtly handed him back to the nurse and puked – everywhere.  My illusions of being “the bestest mom EVER” were gone in that instant.  With this in mind, I have no issue with telling people that I let my 3 year old watch SpongeBob.  Not only is the cartoon hilarious (in a “special” sort of way) but what adult doesn’t find themselves feeling like one of it’s less-than-stellar main characters from time-to-time?  I personally identify with Mr. Crab’s awkward teenaged daughter, Pearl,  for reasons I’ll leave to another post…

4 comments

  1. Isabella is an avid watcher of Spongebob, I think as long as I don’t let her watch Family Guy, I’m doing a good job.


  2. I have to agree with Mel on this one. I figure that Spongebob is pretty harmless compared to that sexual explicit show otherwise known as the Family Guy. Just by banning this one show alone may just earn me back my “Mother of the Year” award that I have been striving to regain since 1999 when Sydney took a massive head dive down into the sidewalk while running along the boardwalk in Vero Beach. Where was that child’s mother that should have been diligently holding her hand, anyway??


  3. I think we all have to realize there is no such thing as a perfect parent. I think you do a fine job! Without Spongebob I would never get anything done around my house. I love mw some Spongebob!!


  4. I don’t mind if Aden watches Spongebob, although he’s not quite into it. i agree about Family Guy though, that was never meant for kids. I wish I could ban my husband from watching it just so I didn’t have to hear the constant quotes in stupid voices. AND…. there’s no such thing as the perfect mother. It’s all a learning process. Maybe we’ll be awesome at this parenting thing once we are grandparents.



Leave a Reply

