h1

Suck it Trebek…

March 21, 2009

I take my job of “bringing the funny” seriously.  Very seriously. To gain honors in Webie World something or someone has to be “stand-the-test-of-time” funny and there are few things or people in life that can pull that off.  Celebrity paradies (when done right) fall into this category.  Let’s be honest…there’s nothing better than seeing bloated, ego-maniac, grossly overpaid celebs being knocked on their ass and put in their place.  Nothing potentially harmful to them of course, just a good smack in the face.

Before I discovered the awesomeness of *pixel land* my life’s ambition was to be on Saturday Night Live.  This was back in the day of Wayne’s World, Church Chat, Coffee Talk, Lunch Lady Land, Matt Foley and Jack Handey.  Yes…the good old days of FUNNY.  Since I’ve never been a celebrity worshiper (I honestly can’t wrap my head around that whole obsession) the idea of getting paid to make fun of them was intoxicating to me.  It was only when I realized that I’d have to risk my life living down a dark alley somewhere in New York City that I changed my mind.  That and the very real possibility that I’d only get to wear flip flops about 4 months out of the year — barring a late season Nor’easter, that would subtract another good two weeks.

My top SNL honors of the recent years easily goes to “Celebrity Jeopardy”.  Not only does Will Ferrel play a better Alex Trebek than the man himself but Darrell Hammond’s Sean Connery is legendary.  At least it is in these parts.

>> Enjoy! <<

3 comments

  1. I totally agree. The SNL Jeopardy skits are the best ever…but only when Sean Connery is part of it. Love it!


  2. Sean Connery: It looks like this is my lucky day! I’ll take “The Rapists” for $200.
    Alex Trebek: That’s “Therapists.” That’s “Therapists,” not “The Rapists.”


    • Yes, yes. There are so many classic lines to share and enjoy.

      Alex Trebek: Months That Start With Feb for $800. This is the only month that starts with Feb.
      [ Sean Connery buzzes in ] Mr. Connery?
      Sean Connery: Febtober!



Leave a Reply

